FLORIDA MOTORCYCLE LAWS
Florida motorcycle laws are plagued with numerous urban legends. Falsities around the State's laws have become so common that these laws are frequently misquoted by "supposed" experts in their fields. People who think they know the rules, like motorcycle salespeople, police, and even some lawyers, are giving wrong information. We're here to clear up the confusion and give you the facts.
The Moto Lawyer's attorneys work tirelessly to stay up to date on all emerging trends and judicial decisions. Here you can find additional resources that you may find beneficial.
* CLICK ON ORANGE HIGHLIGHTS FOR MORE INFORMATION
In the State of Florida, a person over the age of 21 may operate or ride passenger on a motorcycle without a helmet, if and only if, that person has an insurance policy in the minimum amount of $10,000 of medical benefits for injuries arising from an accident while riding or operating a motorcycle.
In the State of Florida, handlebar height cannot be higher than the top of the shoulders of the person operating the motorcycle.
A MOTORCYCLE ENDORSEMENT OR
A MOTORCYCLE LICENSE IS NECESSARY
TO OPERATE A MOTORCYCLE IN FLORIDA
Under Florida Statute 322.03 a motorcycle endorsement or a "motorcycle only" license is mandatory for all persons operating a two or three-wheeled motorcycle with an engine size greater than 50cc. To obtain the endorsement or the "motorcycle" only license, new riders must take and pass the Basic Rider Course (BRC) or the Basic Rider Course updated (BRCu) through an authorized Florida Rider Training Program.
Motorcycle endorsements obtained in other states will validly transfer to the rider's new Florida driver's license with complete reciprocity, with the exception of an endorsement obtained in the State of Alabama. For Alabama riders, who wish to transfer their endorsement to Florida, you will need to obtain a Motorcycle Safety Foundation Basic Rider Course completion card and present it with the endorsed driver's license from Alabama.
MINIMUM AGE TO OPERATE
A MOTORCYCLE IN FLORIDA
The minimum age to operate a motorcycle in the State of Florida is 16 years old. Additionally, the rider must have completed the Basic Riders Course (BRC) or the Basic Riders Course update (BRCu) and possess either a motorcycle endorsement on their driver's license or possess a "motorcycle's only" license. Furthermore, motorcyclists operating a motorcycle under the age of 21 must wear a protective helmet.
Motorcycle Insurance is required in the State of Florida. Under Florida Statute 324.021, it is mandatory that motorcycles traveling on public roads carry insurance that provides a minimum of $10,000 of Bodily Injury Liability for any one person and a minimum of $20,000 of Bodily Injury for multiple people.
Additionally, the motorcycle must be insured with a minimum of $10,000 of Property Damage Liability. Otherwise, the motorcyclist can comply with the Financial Responsibility Law by obtaining and possessing a valid Certificate of Self-Insurance, that is issued by the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
REGISTERING A MOTORCYCLE IN FLORIDA
It is mandatory that all motorcycles operating on public roads have a valid registration and that a copy of that registration certificate accompanies the motorcycle at all times.
Costs Associated with Registering a Motorcycle in Florida
Motorcycle - $10.00
Antique Motorcycle - $7.50
OBTAINING OR TRANSFERRING A
FLORIDA MOTORCYCLE TITLE
If you are purchasing the motorcycle through a dealership, then the dealership will be responsible for applying for and procuring the Florida title, registration, and license plate necessary for operation within 30 days of the purchase.
If you are purchasing the motorcycle through a private seller, then there are several steps you'll need to take to acquire the title to the motorcycle in your name. The following information will be needed by your local Florida tag agency.
Both you and the seller will need to sign the title.
You will need to obtain/make a bill of sale and bring it with you to the tag agency.
You will need to complete a new application for a Certificate of Title.
Costs Associated with Obtaining/Transferring a Title in Florida
New Title: $77.25
Transferred Title: $75.25
Original (to Florida) Used Title Fee: $77.25 (This applies for motorcycles with titles that are from another state but are being transferred to a Florida title).
FLORIDA REQUIRES EYE PROTECTION
Eye-protection is mandatory under Florida Statute 316.211(2).
FLORIDA'S AGE REQUIREMENT FOR
In Florida, there is no set age requirement for passengers of a motorcycle.
In order to carry a passenger on a motorcycle in Florida, it is required that the motorcycle be designed to carry a passenger, meaning that there is a designated, regular, and fixed seat, and passenger footrests.
MOTORCYCLE WHEELIES ARE ILLEGAL
IN THE STATE OF FLORIDA
As per Florida Statute 316.2085(2) both wheels must remain on the ground at all times. However, it is not a violation of the law if the wheels of the motorcycle lose contact with the ground briefly due to the condition of the road surface or other circumstances beyond the control of the rider.
It is illegal to lane split in Florida. A motorcyclist may not overtake or pass another in a lane occupied by another vehicle, between lanes of traffic, or in adjacent lines or rows of vehicles.
The Moto Lawyer advises that all motorcyclists comply with all state and local laws. Motorcycle laws are dictated at the state level, therefore, each state is unique in their laws pertaining to motorcyclists. Below is a link that will connect you to the American Motorcycle Association, which provides a state-by-state list of applicable rules and regulations.